Crime Fiction
Recently Viewed
Pay by...

Visa, Visa Delta, Visa Electron, MasterCard, Maestro, PayPal

Edge of the Grave (Jimmy Dreghorn 1) - Robbie Morrison

Edge of the Grave (Jimmy Dreghorn 1) - Robbie Morrison
  Zoom

Title: Edge of the Grave

Author:  Robbie Morrison

ISBN:  9781529054019

Weight:  990 g

Signed first edition, first printing

Availability:  

  

In stock, usually sent within 24 hours

Our price:  £14.99
+

Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison

A dark historical crime novel set in Glasgow, 1932.  A city still recovering from the Great War; split by religious division and swarming with razor gangs.  For fans of Denise Mina, Philip Kerr and William McIlvanney’s Laidlaw.


When Charles Geddes, son-in-law of one of the city’s wealthiest shipbuilders, is found floating in the River Clyde with his throat cut, his beautiful widow Isla Lockhart asks for Inspector James Dreghorn to lead the murder case.

Dreghorn has a troubled history with the powerful Lockhart family that stretches back to before the First World War and is reluctant to become involved.  But facing pressure from his superiors, he has no choice in the matter.

The investigation takes him and his partner ‘Bonnie’ Archie McDaid from the flying fists and flashing blades of the Glasgow underworld to the backstabbing upper echelons of government and big business in order to find out who wanted Charles Geddes dead and why.  As the case deepens, the pair will put their lives on the line in the pursuit of a sadistic killer who is ready to strike again…

Peer & Press Reviews

Robbie Morrison really is a breath of fresh creative air in crime fiction.  Edge of the Grave is a stunning debut: razor sharp prose and a superbly crafted sense of place and time.  A great Glaswegian page-turner: I could smell the smog and feel the grit throughout.

Craig Russell, author of the Lennox series

Wonderfully gritty, violent and nasty in all the right ways.

James Oswald, author of the Inspector McLean series

A magnificent and enthralling portrait of a dark and dangerous city and the men and women who live and die in it.  I can’t wait to spend some more time with Jimmy Dreghorn and Archie McDaid.  Robbie Morrison has produced an astounding debut.

Mark Billingham, author of the Tom Thorne series

Bibliographic Info

Attribute Details
Title Edge of the Grave
Author
Book Features
Edition / printing First edition, first printing
Series Jimmy Dreghorn – book 1
Overall condition Fine / Fine (see our article on Condition Grades)
Signed On a signature page, tipped-in before the title page.
(Printed on this page is the title and the phrase ‘Signed by the author’.)
Book Stats
Publisher Pan Macmillan
Imprint Macmillan
Publication date
Printed by CPI Group (UK) Ltd, Croydon
ISBN 13 9781529054019
Format Hardcover with dust jacket
Pages 400
Size (h x w x d) 241 x 162 x 38mm
Image and Design Credits
Author photograph Deborah Tate
Jacket images Front: Trinity Mirror / Mirrorpix / Alamy Stock Photo (men); Bert Hardy / Picture Post / Getty Images (background)
Back: Shutterstock

Other books you may like...
Dance of Death (Home Front Detective 5) - Edward Marston
Dance of Death (Home Front Detective 5) - Edward Marston
Signed edition£19.99
The Architect of Murder - Rafe McGregor
The Architect of Murder - Rafe McGregor
Signed, lined & dated£35.00
The Death Instinct - Jed Rubenfeld
The Death Instinct - Jed Rubenfeld
Signed edition£18.99
The Great Darkness (Nighthawk 1) - Jim Kelly
The Great Darkness (Nighthawk 1) - Jim Kelly
Signed edition£19.99
The Outlander - Gil Adamson
The Outlander - Gil Adamson
Signed, lined & dated£44.95
The Twelfth Department (Korolev Mysteries 3) - William Ryan
The Twelfth Department (Korolev Mysteries 3) - William Ryan
Signed & numbered£25.00
Modern Signed Editions Ltd