General Fiction
Recently Viewed
Pay by...

Visa, Visa Delta, Visa Electron, MasterCard, Maestro, JCB, PayPal

Ghana Must Go by Taiye Selasi

Ghana Must Go by Taiye Selasi
  Zoom

Author:  Taiye Selasi

ISBN:  9780670919864

Weight:  990g

Dated and signed first edition, first printing

Availability:  

  

In stock, usually sent within 24 hours

Our price:  £15.99
+

Ghana Must Go – Taiye Selasi

A stunning novel, spanning generations and continents, Ghana Must Go by rising star Taiye Selasi is a tale of family drama and forgiveness, for fans of Zadie Smith and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

This is the story of a family – of the simple, devastating ways in which families tear themselves apart, and of the incredible lengths to which a family will go to put itself back together.

It is the story of the Sais family, whose good life crumbles in an evening; a Ghanaian father, Kwaku Sai, who becomes a highly respected surgeon in the US only to be disillusioned by a grotesque injustice; his Nigerian wife, Fola, the beautiful homemaker abandoned in his wake; their eldest son, Olu, determined to reconstruct the life his father should have had; their twins, seductive Taiwo and acclaimed artist Kehinde, both brilliant but scarred and flailing; their youngest, Sadie, jealously in love with her celebrity best friend.  All of them sent reeling on their disparate paths into the world.  Until, one day, tragedy spins the Sais in a new direction.

This is the story of a family: torn apart by lies, reunited by grief.  A family absolved, ultimately, by that bitter but most tenuous bond: familial love.

With her perfectly-pitched prose and flawless technique, Selasi does more than merely renew our sense of the African novel: she renews our sense of the novel, period.  An astonishing debut.

Teju Cole, author of Open City

Bibliographic Data
Title : Ghana Must Go
Author :
Book Features
Edition / printing : First edition, first printing
Book features : White boards with black text, white endpapers.
Overall condition : Fine / Very fine – some very light pushing to spine ends.
Signed : Yes – on the title page
Dated : Yes – 11/4/13
Book Stats
Publisher : Penguin Books
Imprint : Viking
Publication date :
Printed by : Clays Ltd, Bungay
ISBN 13 : 9780670919864
ISBN 10 : 0670919861
Format : Hardcover with dust jacket
Pages : 318
H x W x D : 241 x 162 x 32mm
Design Credits
Author photo : Nancy Crampton

Other books you may like…
Narcopolis - Jeet Thayil
Narcopolis - Jeet Thayil

Dated & signed paperback£20.00

The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna
The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna

£30.00

The Orchard of Lost Souls by Nadifa Mohamed
The Orchard of Lost Souls by Nadifa Mohamed

£19.50

Modern Signed Editions Ltd