General Fiction
Recently Viewed
Pay by...

Visa, Visa Delta, Visa Electron, MasterCard, Maestro, PayPal

Girl at War - Sara Novic

Girl at War - Sara Novic
  Zoom

Title: Girl at War

Author:  Sara Novic

ISBN:  9781408706541

Weight:  821g

Lined and dated signed first edition, first printing

Lined

Availability:  

  

1 available, prompt dispatch

Our price:  £24.95
+

Girl at War by Sara Novic

For readers of The Tiger’s Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl’s coming of age – and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.

Zagreb, 1991. Ana Jurić is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia’s capital.  But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana’s idyllic childhood.

Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire.  Neighbours grow suspicious of one another, and Ana’s sense of safety starts to fray.  When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world.

New York, 2001.  Ana is now a college student in Manhattan.  Though she’s tried to move on from her past, she can’t escape her memories of war – secrets she keeps even from those closest to her.

Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home.  As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country’s difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before.

Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual.  Sara Nović fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl – and its legacy on all of us.  It’s a precocious debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today.

Peer & Press Reviews

Astonishing…  Girl at War is an extraordinarily poised and potent debut novel, a story about grief and exile, memory and identity, and the redemptive power of love.

Financial Times

Powerful and vividly wrought…  Novic writes about horrors with an elegant understatement.  In cool, accomplished sentences, we are met with the gravity, brutality and even the mundaneness of war and loss as well as the enduring capacity to live.

San Francisco Chronicle

Novic excels at distilling visual poetry from action scenes… [she] has breathed fire and ice into these pages.  Immersing herself in the darkest materials, she has given us the real stuff dystopian fantasies are made of.

Guardian

Bibliographic Info

Attribute Details
Title Girl at War
Author
Book Features
Edition / printing First edition, first printing
Overall condition Fine / Fine (see our article on Condition Grades)
Signed On the title page
Lined The war in Zagreb began over a pack of cigarettes.
Dated 21 May 2015 [publication day]
Awards and Media
Awards and prizes Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2016 – longlist [now the WPfF]
Book Stats
Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
Imprint Little, Brown
Publication date
Printed by Clays Ltd, Bungay
ISBN 13 9781408706541
ISBN 10 1408706547
Format Hardcover with dust jacket
Pages 316
Size (h x w x d) 243 x 163 x 30mm
Image and Design Credits
Author photograph Alan Caras
Jacket design Kelly Blair

Other books you may like…
A Boy in Winter - Rachel Seiffert
A Boy in Winter - Rachel Seiffert

Signed edition£19.99

A Girl is a Half-formed Thing - Eimear McBride
A Girl is a Half-formed Thing - Eimear McBride

Signed 2nd print paperback£9.95

Burial Rites - Hannah Kent
Burial Rites - Hannah Kent

Signed & dated£24.99

I Am China - Xiaolu Guo
I Am China - Xiaolu Guo

Signed edition£29.99

Purple Hibiscus - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Purple Hibiscus - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Signed edition£39.99

The Undertaking - Audrey Magee
The Undertaking - Audrey Magee

Signed edition£21.50

Modern Signed Editions Ltd