General Fiction
Recently Viewed
Pay by...

Visa, Visa Delta, Visa Electron, MasterCard, Maestro, PayPal

Hare House - Sally Hinchcliffe

Hare House - Sally Hinchcliffe
  Zoom

Title: Hare House

Author:  Sally Hinchcliffe

ISBN:  9781529061635

Weight:  776 g

Signed first edition, first printing

Availability:  

  

In stock, usually sent within 24 hours

Our price:  £14.99
+

Hare House by Sally Hinchcliffe

A modern-day witch story, perfect for fans of Pine and The Loney.


Hare House is not its real name, of course.  I have, if you will forgive me, kept names to a minimum here, for reasons that will become understandable...

In the first brisk days of autumn, a woman arrives in Scotland having left her job at an all-girls school in London in mysterious circumstances.  Moving into a cottage on the remote estate of Hare House, she begins to explore her new home – a patchwork of hills, moorland and forest.  But among the tiny roads, dykes and scattered houses, something more sinister lurks: local tales of witchcraft, clay figures and young men sent mad.

Striking up a friendship with her landlord, Grant, and his younger sister, Cass, she begins to suspect that all might not be quite as it seems at Hare House.  And as autumn turns to winter, and a heavy snowfall traps the inhabitants of the estate within its walls, tensions rise to fever pitch.

Peer & Press Reviews

Hinchcliffe writes atmospherically…  Fans of the supernatural will find much to enjoy in this eerie tale.

Literary Review

A beautiful, slow burn of a novel, eerie and shimmering in equal measure.  The bewitching prose brilliantly evokes the bleak glories of a remote Scottish landscape, while the subtle shifts of plot and perspective lure the reader towards an unsettling denouement where nothing is quite what it seems.  A dark uncanny read and all the more satisfying for that.

Mary Paulson-Ellis, author of Emily Noble’s Disgrace

Eerie and subtle…  This deliciously chilly tale dodges the expected outcome and maintains a delicate balance between psychology and witchcraft right to its disturbing end.

Guardian

Bibliographic Info

Attribute Details
Title Hare House
Author
Book Features
Edition / printing First edition, first printing
Overall condition Fine / Fine (see our article on Condition Grades)
Signed On a signature page, tipped-in before the title page.
(Printed on this page is the title and the phrase ‘Signed by the author’.)
Book Stats
Publisher Pan Macmillan
Imprint Mantle
Publication date
Printed by CPI Group (UK) Ltd, Croydon
ISBN 13 9781529061635
Format Hardcover with dust jacket
Pages 310
Size (h x w x d) 224 x 145 x 32mm
Image and Design Credits
Author photograph Paul Mackey
Design Ami Smithson, Mantle Art Department
Jacket illustration Diana Catchpole

Other books you may like...
An Awkward Age by Anna Starobinets
An Awkward Age by Anna Starobinets
Signed edition£13.99Sorry, sold out
Day Four - Sarah Lotz
Day Four - Sarah Lotz
Signed edition£14.99
Girl in the Walls - A. J. Gnuse
Girl in the Walls - A. J. Gnuse
Signed indie limited£12.99
Inland - Tea Obreht
Inland - Tea Obreht
Signed edition£14.99
Platform Seven - Louise Doughty
Platform Seven - Louise Doughty
Signed edition£14.99
Starve Acre - Andrew Michael Hurley
Starve Acre - Andrew Michael Hurley
Signed edition£12.99
Modern Signed Editions Ltd