Crime Fiction
Recently Viewed
Pay by...

Visa, Visa Delta, Visa Electron, MasterCard, Maestro, JCB, PayPal

Orient - Christopher Bollen

Orient - Christopher Bollen
  Zoom

Title: Orient

Author:  Christopher Bollen

ISBN:  9781471136146

Weight:  990g

Signed first edition, first printing

Availability:  

  

In stock, usually sent within 24 hours

Our price:  £14.99
+

Orient by Christopher Bollen.

At the eastern edge of Long Island, far from the hustle of New York City, sits Orient, a secluded village that has been home to a few families for hundreds of years and is now – reluctantly – opening up to wealthy weekenders and artist refugees from the city.

On the last day of summer, a young man with a hazy past appears, and, not long after his arrival comes a series of events that shatters the peace in this isolated community.  A strange, twisted creature washes ashore on the Sound and, soon after, a human corpse is found floating in the water.  An elderly woman dies in bizarre circumstances and a house fire erupts out of nowhere.  Fear and suspicion mount until everyone’s secrets threaten to be exposed.

But who is Mills Chevern?  What is his real name and why is he here?  As all eyes shift towards the orphan drifter, Mills elicits the support of Beth Shepherd, an Orient native who is hiding a secret of her own.

Suspenseful and haunting, Bollen’s thrilling novel Orient is a provocative portrait of the American dream, in the vein of Lionel Shriver or A M Homes.

Peer & Press Reviews

Orient is a taut and elegant suspense novel about strangers and strangeness, suspicion and forgiveness, reinvention and confession.

Joshua Ferris, author of To Rise Again at a Decent Hour

Secrets, parochial gossip, casual xenophobia, proximity to a large water source and a decent body count: what more could you need from a thriller?  Bollen’s rich novel has all of the right ingredients and serves them up suspensefully as he tears down his version of the American dream.

Fiona Wilson, The Times

The Great Gatsby meets Donna Tartt.  Suspenseful, beautifully written, and wonderfully atmospheric, Orient is that rare treat that is both a page-turner and a book you will want to savour.

Philipp Meyer, author of The Son

The American author Christopher Bollen writes expansive, psychologically probing novels in the manner of Updike, Eugenides and Franzen, but he is also an avowed disciple of Agatha Christie.

Jake Kerridge, The Telegraph

Bibliographic Info

Attribute Details
Title: Orient
Author:
Book Features
Edition / printing: First edition, first printing
Book features: Red cover with black text on spine, white endpapers.
Overall condition: Fine / Fine (for more info, see our article on condition grades)
Signed: Yes – on the title page
Book Stats
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication date:
Printed by: CPI Group (UK) Ltd, Croydon
ISBN 13: 9781471136146
ISBN 10: 1471136140
Format: Hardcover with dust jacket
Pages: 609
Size (h x w x d): 241 x 162 x 47mm
Weight: 1.027kg
Design Credits
Author photo: Sebastian Kim
Jacket photo: Getty Images
Signed edition

Other books you may like…
Gray Mountain - John Grisham
Gray Mountain - John Grisham

Limited & signed£19.99

Second Life - S J Watson
Second Life - S J Watson

Signed edition£19.99

The Abomination (Carnivia Trilogy) by Jonathan Holt
The Abomination (Carnivia Trilogy) by Jonathan Holt

Lined, dated & signed£21.99

The Serpent Papers (Serpent Papers 1) - Jessica Cornwell
The Serpent Papers (Serpent Papers 1) - Jessica Cornwell

Signed edition£12.99

Wolf Winter - Cecilia Ekbäck
Wolf Winter - Cecilia Ekbäck

Signed edition£17.99

 
Modern Signed Editions Ltd