General Fiction
Recently Viewed
Pay by...

Visa, Visa Delta, Visa Electron, MasterCard, Maestro, JCB, PayPal

Queen's Gambit by Elizabeth Fremantle

Queen's Gambit by Elizabeth Fremantle
  Zoom

Author:  Elizabeth Fremantle

ISBN:  9780718177065

Weight:  990g

Signed and pre-publication dated
first edition, first printing

Availability:  

  

Sorry, sold out

Our price:  £19.50

Queen’s Gambit – Elizabeth Fremantle

For fans of Hilary Mantel, Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, Elizabeth Fremantle’s first novel, Queen’s Gambit, is a riveting account of Katherine Parr, the Tudor queen who married four men and outlived three of them – including Henry VIII.

Widowed for the second time aged thirty-one, Katherine is obliged to return to court but, suspicious of the ageing Henry and those who surround him, she does so with reluctance.  Nevertheless when she finds herself caught up in a passionate affair with the dashing and seductive Thomas Seymour, she believes she might finally be able to marry for love.  But her presence at court has attracted the attentions of another…

Captivated by her honesty and intelligence, Henry Tudor has his own plans for Katherine and no one is in the position to refuse a proposal from the king.  With her charismatic lover dispatched to the continent, Katherine becomes Henry’s sixth wife.

Passionate about religious reform, and ever aware of the fates of his previous queens, she must draw upon all her instincts and intellect to navigate the treachery of the court.  With the Catholic faction once more in the ascendency, reformers burned for heresy and those around the dying king vying for position in the new regime, her survival seems unlikely – and yet she has still not quite given up on love…

Fremantle is surely a major new voice in historical fiction and this book is the answer to the question about what Hilary Mantel fans should read while waiting for the final part of her trilogy.

The Bookseller

Bibliographic Data
Title:Queen’s Gambit
Author:
Book Features
Edition / printing:First edition, first printing
Book features:Black boards with copper-coloured author and title text on spine.
Overall condition:Fine / Very fine – some light pushing to spine ends
Signed:Yes – on the title page
Dated:Yes – 27/2/13 (pre-publication dated)
Book Stats
Publisher:Penguin Books
Imprint:Michael Joseph
Publication date:
Printed by:Clays Ltd, Bungay
ISBN 13:9780718177065
ISBN 10:0718177061
Format:Hardcover with dust jacket
Pages:465
H x W x D:242 x 160 x 42mm
Design Credits
Author photo:Paola Pieroni
Jacket photos:Jeff Cottenden | Girts Gailans / Red Edge (doorway – used courtesy of Ely Cathedral)

Collectors Notes

  • Queen’s Gambit is Elizabeth Fremantle first novel and the first book of a new Tudor trilogy.
  • For more information, you might like to visit Elizabeth Fremantle’s website.  This is a rich source of info on her life, books and future projects.

Other books you may like…
Sword and Scimitar by Simon Scarrow
Sword and Scimitar by Simon Scarrow

£18.99

Signed first edition, first printing

The Marlowe Papers - Ros Barber
The Marlowe Papers - Ros Barber

£35.00

Signed and dated
first edition, first printing

The Wives of Henry Oades - Johanna Moran
The Wives of Henry Oades - Johanna Moran

£14.99   £12.50

Signed, numbered (134 of 250)
first edition, first printing

Modern Signed Editions Ltd