Crime Fiction
Recently Viewed
Pay by...

Visa, Visa Delta, Visa Electron, MasterCard, Maestro, PayPal

Sixteen Horses - Greg Buchanan

Sixteen Horses - Greg Buchanan
  Zoom

Title: Sixteen Horses

Author:  Greg Buchanan

ISBN:  9781529027167

Weight:  990 g

Signed first edition, first printing

Availability:  

  

In stock, usually sent within 24 hours

Our price:  £16.99
+

Sixteen Horses by Greg Buchanan

A story of enduring guilt, trauma, and punishment, set in a small seaside community the rest of the world has left behind…


Near the dying English seaside town of Ilmarsh, local police detective Alec Nichols discovers sixteen horses’ heads on a farm, each buried with a single eye facing the low winter sun.  After forensic veterinarian Cooper Allen travels to the scene, the investigators soon uncover evidence of a chain of crimes in the community – disappearances, arson and mutilations – all culminating in the reveal of something deadly lurking in the ground itself.

In the dark days that follow, the town slips into panic and paranoia.  Everything is not as it seems.  Anyone could be a suspect.  And as Cooper finds herself unable to leave town, Alec is stalked by an unseen threat.  The two investigators race to uncover the truth behind these frightening and insidious mysteries – no matter the cost.

Peer & Press Reviews

Poignant, chilling, eerie, and gruesome, Sixteen Horses is a thriller with a literary soul, perfect for fans of Netflix’s Dark or BBC’s Top of the Lake.  Buchanan impressively balances horror and empathy, showing real evil while also exploring the human cost of economic collapse.  A unique, ambitious debut that left me shocked and enthralled.

Sara Sligar, author of Take Me Apart

A dark, ambitious, and highly intelligent thriller…  This complex, often gothic tale is definitely an eye-opener.

Publishers Weekly

Dark, visceral and disturbing, this highly suspenseful and beautifully written thriller is totally gripping from start to finish.  A hugely impressive debut

Alex Michaelides, author of The Silent Patient

Bibliographic Info

AttributeDetails
TitleSixteen Horses
Author
Book Features
Edition / printingFirst edition, first printing
Jacket noteThe ‘Between the Covers’ roundel on the front of the jacket isn’t a sticker, it’s part of the design.
Overall conditionFine / Fine (see our article on Condition Grades)
SignedOn a signature page, tipped-in before the title page.
(Printed on this page is the title and the phrase ‘Signed by the author’.)
Awards and Media
TV featureAiring on 24 May 2021, Sixteen Horses is the Newly-published book pick in episode 3 of BBC 2’s Between the Covers series.
Television adaptationMichelle Kroes (on behalf of CAA) negotiated the deal that saw Gaumont UK win the TV rights to Sixteen Horses, Buchanan’s debut thriller.
The drama development for the series is being led by Gaumont UK CEO and executive producer Alison Jackson and its senior development executive, Jamie Jackson.
Book Stats
PublisherPan Macmillan
ImprintMantle
Publication date
Printed byCPI Group (UK) Ltd, Croydon
ISBN 139781529027167
FormatHardcover with dust jacket
Pages451 [main body]
Size (h x w x d)241x 163 x 42mm
Packed weight1.040kg [heavy book]
Image and Design Credits
Author photographJohn Parris © Buchanan Productions
Jacket imagesSky: Paul Walsh / EyeEm / Getty Images
Foreground hair: saulgranda / Getty Images
Grass & birds: Shutterstock
Building: Christopher Furlong / Getty Images

Other books you may like...
Kill A Stranger - Simon Kernick
Kill A Stranger - Simon Kernick
Signed edition£14.99
Nighthawking (DS Adam Tyler 2) - Russ Thomas
Nighthawking (DS Adam Tyler 2) - Russ Thomas
Signed edition£14.99
The Coffinmaker’s Garden (Ash Henderson 3) - Stuart MacBride
The Coffinmaker’s Garden (Ash Henderson 3) - Stuart MacBride
Signed edition£18.99
The Darkest Evening (Vera Stanhope 9) - Ann Cleeves
The Darkest Evening (Vera Stanhope 9) - Ann Cleeves
Signed indie limited£18.99
The Khan - Saima Mir
The Khan - Saima Mir
Signed edition£14.99
 
Modern Signed Editions Ltd