Recently Viewed
Pay by...

Visa, Visa Delta, Visa Electron, MasterCard, Maestro, JCB, PayPal

To avoid disappointment, read our guide to… last posting dates for Christmas delivery

Slade House - David Mitchell

Slade House - David Mitchell
  Zoom
  

Title: Slade House

Author:  David Mitchell

ISBN:  9781473617377

Weight:  709g

Signed limited first edition,
first printing with slipcase

Availability:  

  

In stock, usually sent within 24 hours

Our price:  £49.95
+

Slade House by David Mitchell

Turn down Slade Alley – narrow, dank and easy to miss, even when you’re looking for it.  Find the small black iron door set into the right-hand wall.  No handle, no keyhole, but at your touch it swings open.  Enter the sunlit garden of an old house that doesn’t quite make sense; too grand for the shabby neighbourhood, too large for the space it occupies.

A stranger greets you by name and invites you inside.  At first, you won’t want to leave.  Later, you’ll find that you can’t.

This unnerving, taut and intricately woven tale by one of our most original and bewitching writers begins in 1979 and reaches its turbulent conclusion around Hallowe’en, 2015.  Because every nine years, on the last Saturday of October, a ‘guest’ is summoned to Slade House.  But why has that person been chosen, by whom and for what purpose?  The answers lie waiting in the long attic, at the top of the stairs….

Born out of the short story David Mitchell published on Twitter in 2014 and inhabiting the same universe as his bestselling novel The Bone Clocks, this is the perfect book to curl up with on a dark and stormy night.

Peer & Press Reviews

Fans of The Bone Clocks and Cloud Atlas will recognize the interlocking narrative structure and literary-fantastical bent… who doesn’t want to just drink up all of Mitchell’s writing?

Library Journal

All the intelligence and linguistic dazzle of a David Mitchell novel, but this one will also creep the pants off you… you won’t be able to put this book down.

Adam Johnson, Pulitzer Prize winning author of The Orphan Master’s Son

Mitchell has long been acknowledged as one of the finest – if not the finest – literary minds of his generation; but he’s also one of the most suspenseful…  I read in a constant state of terror and joy and could not turn the pages fast enough.

Joe Hill, NYT bestselling author of Horns

Bibliographic Info

Attribute Details
Title: Slade House
Author:
Book Features
Edition / printing: First edition, first printing
Edition background: This book evolved from a short story David Mitchell published on Twitter in 2014.  It inhabits the same universe as his recent bestselling novel, The Bone Clocks.
Limited edition: Edition limited to 1500 copies with slipcase (numbers unknown; books are still sealed in publisher’s shrink wrap)
Edition features: Specially designed cover, endpapers and slipcase; it’s bound with decorative head and tail bands and is complete with a red ribbon marker.
Overall condition: Presumed at least Fine / na / Fine as still packed in publisher’s shrink wrap (for more info, see our article on condition grades)
Signed: Yes
Book Stats
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Imprint: Sceptre
Media adaptation: BBC Radio 4 – Book at Bedtime (five 15-minute episodes, broadcast Mon - Fri at 10:45pm, starting 14 Dec 2015)
Publication date:
ISBN 13: 9781473617377
ISBN 10: 1473617375
Format: Hardcover with slipcase, no dust jacket
Pages: 240
Size (h x w x d): 212 x 140 x 29mm (slipcase)
Design Credits
Paper sculpture: Jeff Nishinaka

Other books you may like…
Bird Box - Josh Malerman
Bird Box - Josh Malerman

£24.50

Signed first edition, first printing

Dolly by Susan Hill
Dolly by Susan Hill

£15.00

Signed first edition, first printing

The Winter Ghosts by Kate Mosse
The Winter Ghosts by Kate Mosse

£35.00

Signed, lined and publication dated
first edition, first printing

Wolf Winter - Cecilia Ekbäck
Wolf Winter - Cecilia Ekbäck

£19.99

Signed first edition, first printing

  
Modern Signed Editions Ltd