Recently Viewed
Pay by...

Visa, Visa Delta, Visa Electron, MasterCard, Maestro, JCB, PayPal

Sorcerer to the Crown (Sorcerer Royal 1) - Zen Cho

Sorcerer to the Crown (Sorcerer Royal 1) - Zen Cho
  Zoom

This is book number 79 of an exclusive edition of just 250 copies

Title: Sorcerer to the Crown

Author:  Zen Cho

ISBN:  9781447299455

Weight:  981g

Numbered, dated, doodled and signed first edition, first printing

Availability:  

  

Sorry, sold out

Our price:  £45.00

Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho

The fate of English magic lies in their hands…

In Regency London, Zacharias Wythe is England’s first African Sorcerer Royal.  He leads the eminent Royal Society of Unnatural Philosophers, but a malicious faction seeks to remove him by fair means or foul.  Meanwhile, the Society is failing its vital duty – to keep stable the levels of magic within His Majesty’s lands.  The Fairy Court is blocking its supply, straining England’s dangerously declining magical stores.  And now the government is demanding to use this scarce resource in its war with France.

Ambitious orphan Prunella Gentleman is desperate to escape the school where she’s drudged all her life, and a visit by the beleaguered Sorcerer Royal seems the perfect opportunity.  For Prunella has just stumbled upon English magic’s greatest discovery in centuries – and she intends to make the most of it.

At his wits’ end, the last thing Zachariah needs is a female magical prodigy!  But together, they might just change the nature of sorcery, in Britain and beyond.

A treat for fans of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norell and Georgette Heyer –
a Regency romp with a pinch of fairyland

Peer & Press Reviews

A warm, funny debut novel by a brilliant new talent.

Charles Stross, author of The Laundry Files series

Fabulous!  If you like Austen or Patrick O’Brian, or magic and humor like Susanna Clarke, or simply a very fun read, you will really, really, enjoy this.

Ann Leckie, author of Ancillary Mercy

Compulsively readable and wickedly funny, this magical marriage of Jane Austen and P. G. Wodehouse delivers love, laughs, and a thoroughly modern sensibility, and will keep you reading long into the night.  I loved it.

Lavie Tidhar, author of A Man Lies Dreaming

Bibliographic Info

Attribute Details
Title: Sorcerer to the Crown
Author:
Book Features
Edition / printing: First edition, first printing
Edition background:

This numbered edition comes from a small print run of just 250 copies commissioned by a leading London bookshop working in association with the publisher.

Each book has an authentication page, immediately before the title page, that confirms the book’s number.  This page also confirms the book’s title, the author’s name, the name of the publisher and the month and year of publication.

As a deluxe edition, the book also has black sprayed page edges.

Book number: 79 of 250
Series: Sorcerer Royal – book 1
Overall condition: Fine / Very fine (for more info, see our article on condition grades)
Signed: On the title page
Dated: 11.09.2015 (on the title page)
Doodled: Smiley face (on the title page)
Book Stats
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Imprint: Macmillan
Awards and prizes:

British Fantasy Awards 2016 – shortlist (best fantasy novel)

British Fantasy Awards 2016 – shortlist (best newcomer)

Locus Awards 2016 – finalist (first novel)

Publication date:
Printed by: CPI Group (UK) Ltd, Croydon
ISBN 13: 9781447299455
ISBN 10: 1447299450
Format: Hardcover with dust jacket
Pages: 371
Size (h x w x d): 242 x 160 x 36mm
Design Credits
Author photograph: Darren Johnson
Jacket images: Shutterstock

Other books you may like…
For the Most Beautiful - Emily Hauser
For the Most Beautiful - Emily Hauser

Lined, dated & signed£25.00

Half Bad (Half Bad trilogy) - Sally Green
Half Bad (Half Bad trilogy) - Sally Green

Signed edition£24.95

Some Kind of Fairy Tale - Graham Joyce
Some Kind of Fairy Tale - Graham Joyce

Lined, dated & signed£39.50

The Ocean at the End of the Lane - Neil Gaiman
The Ocean at the End of the Lane - Neil Gaiman

Limited, signed & slipcase£45.00Sorry, sold out

 
Modern Signed Editions Ltd