Recently Viewed
Pay by...

Visa, Visa Delta, Visa Electron, MasterCard, Maestro, PayPal

The Bookseller of Inverness - S.G. MacLean

The Bookseller of Inverness - S.G. MacLean
  Zoom

Title: The Bookseller of Inverness

Author:  S.G. MacLean

ISBN:  9781529414172

Weight:  990 g

Signed first edition, first printing

Availability:  

  

Released on 04/08/2022

Our price:  £16.99

The Bookseller of Inverness by S.G. MacLean

A gripping historical thriller set in Inverness in the wake of the 1746 battle of Culloden from twice CWA award-winning author S. G. MacLean.  Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Andrew Taylor.


After Culloden, Iain MacGillivray was left for dead on Drumossie Moor.  Wounded, his face brutally slashed, he survived only by pretending to be dead as the Redcoats patrolled the corpses of his Jacobite comrades.

Six years later, with the clan chiefs routed and the Highlands subsumed into the British state, Iain lives a quiet life, working as a bookseller in Inverness.  One day, after helping several of his regular customers, he notices a stranger lurking in the upper gallery of his shop, poring over his collection.  But the man refuses to say what he’s searching for and only leaves when Iain closes for the night.

The next morning Iain opens up shop and finds the stranger dead, his throat cut, and the murder weapon laid out in front of him – a sword with a white cockade on its hilt, the emblem of the Jacobites.  With no sign of the killer, Iain wonders whether the stranger discovered what he was looking for – and whether he paid for it with his life.  He soon finds himself embroiled in a web of deceit and a series of old scores to be settled in the ashes of war.

Peer & Press Reviews

The Bookseller of Inverness is everything you could ask for from a historical thriller – gripping, immersive and filled with intriguing characters.  S.G. MacLean can make any period sing with life.  If you’ve not read her before, this is the perfect place to start.

Antonia Hodgson, author of The Silver Collar

S. G. MacLean just goes from strength to strength.  The Bookseller of Inverness is an intricately wrought, compulsively page-turning tale of intrigue set in a post-Rebellion Scotland so perfectly conjured and so convincing that you can smell the heather and taste the blood.

Craig Russell, author of The Devil Aspect

The Jacobites are a perennially fascinating subject, the ultimate forlorn hope of history, and MacLean provides a fresh and intriguing slant on it, clearly based on rock-solid research.  She paints a memorable and densely textured picture of post-Culloden Inverness and its surroundings.  She’s on home ground here, and it shows.  Her best yet.

Andrew Taylor, author of The Last Protector

Bibliographic Info

Attribute Details
Title The Bookseller of Inverness
Author
Book Features
Edition / printing First edition, first printing
Overall condition Fine / Fine (see our article on Condition Grades)
Signed Yes
Book Stats
Publisher Quercus Editions
Imprint Quercus
Publication date
ISBN 13 9781529414172
Format Hardcover with dust jacket

Other books you may like...
City of Vengeance (Cesare Aldo 1) - D. V. Bishop
City of Vengeance (Cesare Aldo 1) - D. V. Bishop
Signed edition£14.99
Daughters of Night - Laura Shepherd-Robinson
Daughters of Night - Laura Shepherd-Robinson
Signed edition£14.99
Ordeal by Fire (Bradecote & Catchpoll 2) - Sarah Hawkswood
Ordeal by Fire (Bradecote & Catchpoll 2) - Sarah Hawkswood
Signed edition£19.99
The Devil's Ribbon (Hatton and Roumande 2) - D. E. Meredith
The Devil's Ribbon (Hatton and Roumande 2) - D. E. Meredith
Signed, lined & dated£12.99
The Drowned City (Daniel Pursglove 1) - K. J. Maitland
The Drowned City (Daniel Pursglove 1) - K. J. Maitland
Signed edition£16.99
The Last Protector (Marwood & Lovett 4) - Andrew Taylor
The Last Protector (Marwood & Lovett 4) - Andrew Taylor
Signed edition£14.99
Modern Signed Editions Ltd