Crime Fiction
Recently Viewed
Pay by...

Visa, Visa Delta, Visa Electron, MasterCard, Maestro, PayPal

The Old Enemy (Paul Samson 3) - Henry Porter

The Old Enemy (Paul Samson 3) - Henry Porter
  Zoom

Title: The Old Enemy

Author:  Henry Porter

ISBN:  9781529403305

Weight:  990 g

Delivery:  Plus a £1.20 add-on [weight and/or ins.]

Signed first edition, first printing

Availability:  

  

Last 1 in stock, fast dispatch

Our price:  £16.99
+

The Old Enemy by Henry Porter

For fans of Mick Herron, Lee Child and John le Carré, a heart-stopping international spy thriller starring ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson.


Ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson has been tasked with secretly guarding a gifted young woman, Zoe Freemantle.  He is just beginning to tire of the job when he is attacked in the street by a freakish looking knifeman.  It’s clear the target is on his back not hers.  What he doesn’t know is who put it there.

At that moment, his mentor, the MI6 legend Robert Harland lies dead on a remote stretch of the Baltic coastline.  Who needed to end the old spy’s life when he was, in any case, dying from a terminal illness?  And what or who is Berlin Blue, the name scratched in the sketchbook beside his body?

A few hours later, Samson watches footage from the US Congress where billionaire philanthropist Denis Hisami is poisoned with a nerve agent while testifying – an attack that is as spectacular as it is lethal, but spares Anastasia Hisami, the love of Samson’s life.

Two things become clear.  One, it was a big mistake to lose the mysterious Zoe Freemantle.  And two, Robert Harland is making a final play from beyond the grave.

Peer & Press Reviews

Praise for Henry Porter…

Henry Porter is now one of the most accomplished practitioners of the modern thriller.

Crime Time

Porter is both his own man and the proud carrier of the flag first unfurled by John le Carre more than fifty years ago.  British espionage fiction is the best in the world, and Porter is part of the reason why.

Lee Child

Porter’s sympathy for the dispossessed is as cogent as his skill at sustaining narrative tension.

Guardian

Bibliographic Info

Attribute Details
Title The Old Enemy
Author
Book Features
Edition / printing First edition, first printing
Series
Paul Samson Spy Thrillers – book 3
Overall condition Fine / Fine (see our article on Condition Grades)
Signed On a signature page, tipped-in before the half title page.
(Printed on this page is the author’s name, the title, and the name of the publisher.)
Book Stats
Publisher Quercus Editions
Publication date
Printed by Clays Ltd, Elcograf S.p.A.
ISBN 13 9781529403305
Format Hardcover with dust jacket
Pages 517
Size (h x w x d) 242 x 163 x 45mm
Packed weight 1.169kg [heavy book]
Image and Design Credits
Author photograph Emma Hardy
Jacket design Henry Steadman
Jacket photographs Henry Steadman (background skyline)
Mark Owen / Arcangel Images (figure)

Other books you may like...
The Dying Light - Henry Porter
The Dying Light - Henry Porter
Signed, lined & dated£37.95Sorry, sold out
A Ghost at the Door (Harry Jones 6) by Michael Dobbs
A Ghost at the Door (Harry Jones 6) by Michael Dobbs
Signed edition£18.99
Agent 6 (Leo Demidov 3) - Tom Rob Smith
Agent 6 (Leo Demidov 3) - Tom Rob Smith
Signed, lined & dated£35.00
The Fallen (Amos Decker 4) - David Baldacci
The Fallen (Amos Decker 4) - David Baldacci
Signed edition£16.99
The Madness of July - James Naughtie
The Madness of July - James Naughtie
Signed edition£12.99
Westwind - Ian Rankin
Westwind - Ian Rankin
Signed edition£20.00
Modern Signed Editions Ltd