General Fiction
Recently Viewed
Pay by...

Visa, Visa Delta, Visa Electron, MasterCard, Maestro, JCB, PayPal

Under a Pole Star - Stef Penney

Under a Pole Star - Stef Penney
  Zoom

Title: Under a Pole Star

Author:  Stef Penney

ISBN:  9781786481160

Weight:  990g

Signed first edition,
first printing

Availability:  

  

In stock, usually sent within 24 hours

Our price:  £18.99
+

Under a Pole Star by Stef Penney

Flora Mackie first crossed the Arctic Circle at the age of twelve.

In 1889, the whaler’s daughter from Dundee – dubbed by the press ‘The Snow Queen’ – sets out to become a scientist and explorer.  She struggles to be taken seriously but determination and chance lead her back to northern Greenland at the head of a British expedition, despite the many who believe that a young woman has no place in this harsh world of men.

Geologist Jakob de Beyn was raised in Manhattan.  Yearning for wider horizons, he joins a rival expedition, led by the furiously driven Lester Armitage.  When Jakob and Flora’s paths cross, it is a fateful meeting.

All three become obsessed with the north, a place where violent extremes exist side by side: perpetual night and endless day; frozen seas and coastal meadows; heroism and lies.  Armitage’s ruthless desire to be the true leader of polar discovery takes him and his men on a mission whose tragic outcome will reverberate for years to come.

Set against the stark, timeless beauty of northern Greenland, and fin-de-siècle New York and London, Under a Pole Star is a compelling look at the dark side of the ‘golden age’ of exploration, a study of the corrosive power of ambition, and an epic, incendiary love story.  It shows that sometimes you have to travel to the furthest edge of the world in order to find your true place in it.

An epic historical novel from the author of the Costa-winning The Tenderness of Wolves,
for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Perry and Jessie Burton

Peer & Press Reviews

Penney’s evocation of the frozen lands of northern Canada couldn’t ring truer if she’d spent months wandering through the land with nothing but a pack of huskies and a native tracker for company.

Guardian

Within the first fifty pages I was completely in love.  It is a testimony to the power of good writing that it can present you with a world that you think you know nothing about, but by the end [of the book] you feel you own it.

Armando Iannucci, writer, director and producer

This subtle and superb novel brings the freezing landscape of the Canadian woods to such vivid life that the landscape itself becomes a strong character within the story.

Crimesquad

Bibliographic Info

Attribute Details
Title: Under a Pole Star
Author:
Book Features
Edition / printing: First edition, first printing
Overall condition: Fine / Fine (for more info, see our article on condition grades)
Signed: On the title page
Awards and Media
Awards and prizes: Costa Novel Award 2017 – shortlist
Book Stats
Publisher: Quercus Editions
Publication date:
Printed by: Clays Ltd, Bungay
ISBN 13: 9781786481160
ISBN 10: 1786481162
Format: Hardcover with dust jacket
Pages: 596
Size (h x w x d): 241 x 162 x 51mm
Weight: 1.175kg [heavy book]
Design Credits
Jacket design: Nikki Dupin
Jacket photography: Shutterstock
Map & illustrations: Liane Payne

Other books you may like…
Jamrach's Menagerie by Carol Birch
Jamrach's Menagerie by Carol Birch

£32.50

Signed and dated first edition, first print PAPERBACK ORIGINAL

McNaughten: A Novel by Sian Busby
McNaughten: A Novel by Sian Busby

£25.00

Signed, lined and dated
first edition, first printing

The Long Song by Andrea Levy
The Long Song by Andrea Levy

£29.50

Signed and dated
first edition, first printing

The Outcast - Sadie Jones
The Outcast - Sadie Jones

£29.50

Signed and dated
first edition, first printing

Unexploded by Alison MacLeod
Unexploded by Alison MacLeod

£29.50

Signed first edition, first printing

 
Modern Signed Editions Ltd