Recently Viewed
Pay by...

Visa, Visa Delta, Visa Electron, MasterCard, Maestro, PayPal

Widowland - C. J. Carey

Widowland - C. J. Carey
  Zoom

Title: Widowland

Author:  C. J. Carey

ISBN:  9781529411980

Weight:  990 g

Delivery:  Plus a £1.45 add-on [weight and/or ins.]

Signed first edition, first printing

Availability:  

  

In stock, usually sent within 24 hours

Our price:  £14.99
+

Widowland by C. J. Carey

An alternative history with a strong feminist twist, perfect for fans of Robert Harris’ Fatherland, Christina Dalcher’s Vox and the dystopian novels of Margaret Atwood


To control the past, they edited history. To control the future, they edited literature.

London, 1953, Coronation year – but not the Coronation of Elizabeth II.

Thirteen years have passed since a Grand Alliance between Great Britain and Germany was formalized.  George VI and his family have been murdered and Edward VIII rules as King.  Yet, in practice, all power is vested in Alfred Rosenberg, Britain’s Protector.  The role and status of women is Rosenberg’s particular interest.

Rose Ransom belongs to the elite caste of women and works at the Ministry of Culture, rewriting literature to correct the views of the past.  But now she has been given a special task.

Outbreaks of insurgency have been seen across the country; graffiti daubed on public buildings.  Disturbingly, the graffiti is made up of lines from forbidden works, subversive words from the voices of women.  Suspicion has fallen on Widowland, the run-down slums where childless women over fifty have been banished.  These women are known to be mutinous, for they have nothing to lose.

Before the Leader arrives for the Coronation ceremony of King Edward and Queen Wallis, Rose must infiltrate Widowland to find the source of this rebellion and ensure that it is quashed.

Peer & Press Reviews

Widowland is a very smart reimagined history executed with plenty of wit, energy and originality plus there’s a rather subtle message for today.  Excellent!

Henry Porter, author of The Old Enemy

Hugely atmospheric, rich in the way it evokes an austerity Britain that’s both familiar and, because of the possibility of a grim fate for saying or doing the wrong thing, chilling.

SFX

Reading this terrific, Orwellian novel you almost hold your breath, so vivid is Carey’s evocation of a dystopia which (you reflect) was surely just a hairsbreadth away.  The engaging heroine, vivid scenario and enthralling plot are underpinned by a serious political sensibility – one which turns an accomplished thriller into a warning.

Bel Mooney, journalist and broadcaster

Bibliographic Info

Attribute Details
Title Widowland
Author (the pen name of Jane Thynne)
Book Features
Edition / printing First edition, first printing
Overall condition Fine / Fine (see our article on Condition Grades)
Signed On a signature page, tipped-in after the front free endpaper.
(Printed on this page is the title, the author’s name, and the name of the of the publisher.)
Book Stats
Publisher Quercus Editions
Publication date
Printed by Clays Ltd, Elcograf S.p.A.
ISBN 13 9781529411980
Format Hardcover with dust jacket
Pages 431
Size (h x w x d) 241 x 161 x 39mm
Packed weight 1.028kg [heavy book]
Image and Design Credits
Author photograph Charles Kerr
Jacket design Nathan Burton

Other books you may like...
Blue Ticket - Sophie Mackintosh
Blue Ticket - Sophie Mackintosh
Signed edition£12.99
Double Blind - Edward St Aubyn
Double Blind - Edward St Aubyn
Signed edition£18.99
Golden State - Ben H. Winters
Golden State - Ben H. Winters
Signed & numbered£19.99
The Afrika Reich (Afrika Reich 1) - Guy Saville
The Afrika Reich (Afrika Reich 1) - Guy Saville
Signed edition£20.00   £10.00
Two Tribes - Chris Beckett
Two Tribes - Chris Beckett
Signed edition£16.99
Username: Uprising (Username 3) - Joe Sugg
Username: Uprising (Username 3) - Joe Sugg
Signed edition£5.99
Modern Signed Editions Ltd